Classical Theism, Philosophy, and Religion Forum

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

7/13/2015 4:57 pm  #1

Analogical Predication

I'm still a fledgling student of Aquinas' theology, but a couple times now I've come across the concept of anaological attribution--that is, when we describe some attribute of God's, we attribute that characteristic to him only in a sense merely related to how we normally mean that characteristic, not in an equivocal or univocal way. Aquinas discusses this explicitly here

But as tidy a philosophy as this seems, I struggle with it for two reasons. First, for Christians (which Aquinas certainly was), this doctrine of analogous predication must extend to include Christ, who is God. But if that's true, then I can think of a whole host of predicates which apply in an univocal sense to both God and humanity, because God became humanity in the person of Jesus. And it is theologically vital that he held his humanity in the same sense we do, because, as the church fathers zealously affirmed, "that which is not assumed is not redeemed." If Christ did not assume humanity in the same sense which we hold it, then he could not have redeemed us.