Classical Theism, Philosophy, and Religion Forum

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

4/26/2017 11:01 am  #1

Quantum Idealism, Digital Physics, Classical Theism & Aristotelianism

Newbie here.

I recently encountered these forums and this provides a good opportunity for me to introduce a certain philosophical viewpoint that has been on my mind recently.

Namely, after viewing a few Christian apologetics videos that have to do with quantum mechanics & idealism, and then encountering classical theism, I found myself thinking whether or not these two philosophical viewpoints can be reconciled

But first, let me showcase the videos in question. These videos deal mostly with scientific evidence relating to the Measurement Problem, which entails, at least according to the videos, a type of idealism.

This specific explanation of quantum phenomenon says that all reality is actually a wave-function at it's most fundamental point. A set of probabilities if you will. And that scientific evidence shows that the human mind collapses the wave-function of matter into being a physical object. In other words, matter does not exist independent of observation.

Here are the relevant videos:

That was the first set, this is the second set by a different author, but it is also very relevant as he goes into more detail:

And this here as well is important, as it concerns the scientific evidence for idealism:

https://arxiv.org/abs/1207.5294

Basically, the Copenhagen interpretation of Quantum Mechanics, which states that consciousness causes the collapse of the wave-function and that an objective reality independent of observation does not exist, is something which is supposedly so certain that there is an actual challenge with a monetary reward if you can prove quantum local realism.