Classical Theism, Philosophy, and Religion Forum

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

6/26/2017 2:09 pm  #1

Still a newbie's question

I'm currently an engineering student and I have some interest in philosophy.
The problem is that I would like to study it without a teacher. I think that alone I can read and have at least a basic understanding of many texts, concepts or arguments. But is it really possible to learn alone to think and to acquire some analytical skills with the help of a teacher to correct you and to give you some fundations?
Would you have some tips?

6/26/2017 2:21 pm  #2

Re: Still a newbie's question

Hi Jean65, personally, I've learnt philosophy by the grace of the members on this forum and the constant discussion that takes place here. I suggest you try joining the forum reading group, other than that you need a good handle on logic, for which I recommend something like Peter Kreeft's Socratic Logic (for at least understanding how it operates), and then moving on to texts that cover propositional logic (I leave it to other members to specify those texts). It's not an easy task, but with time and dedication, I do believe that you can do it.

6/26/2017 3:44 pm  #3

Dennis wrote:

[. . .] other than that you need a good handle on logic, for which I recommend something like Peter Kreeft's Socratic Logic (for at least understanding how it operates), and then moving on to texts that cover propositional logic (I leave it to other members to specify those texts). It's not an easy task, but with time and dedication, I do believe that you can do it.

Perhaps try Initiation à la logique formelle instead. No sense studying in your second language when you don't have to.

6/26/2017 6:09 pm  #4

Dennis wrote: