Classical Theism, Philosophy, and Religion Forum

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

10/30/2017 7:03 am  #1

Answer a Physicist's Questions and Objections to Ed Feser's /Aquinas/

I am trying to read through Ed Feser's Aquinas, but I am hitting numerous obstacles on each page. I think I should get answers to these questions before proceeding with this book. As for my background, I have a Bachelor of Science in Physics, a Master of Medical Physics, and am pursuing a PhD in the Biomedical Sciences. I've read through the Bible, Catechism of the Catholic Church, Quran, and many Christian apologetics (Kreeft, Kreeft & Tacelli, CS Lewis, Michael Waldstein, papal documents, etc) and watched numerous YouTube debates.

I originally wrote these comments, objections, and questions originally posed to Dr. Feser while reading (referencing page numbers); I think you can understand without reference to the book, however.

"Act and potency"

1. Comment: You claim redness is an aspect of the ball's being (p. 10), but rather color is a function of the radiation bouncing off of it. I can make sense of your argument if I think instead of the frequencies of radiation it absorbs: That (as we currently understand) /is/ an aspect of its being.

2. Objection (p 10): Why believe this metaphysical model [about actualization and potentiality, and change being the actualization of potential rather than the breaking of atomic bonds; rather than leftover pizza absorbing radiation from the microwave, "the microwave actualizes the pizza's warmth"?] instead of our modern physical models? In other words, "How can change occur?" seems like a meaningless question, and to give it meaning, one must invent or presuppose this system of "metaphysics". Instead of saying "Change occurs when potency is reduced to act," one can instead be satisfied with, "Change occurs when atoms interact": Why do we need this metaphysics at all?