Classical Theism, Philosophy, and Religion Forum

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

7/16/2015 10:27 pm  #1

to gar auto noēin estin te kai einai

Hello everyone.

I am a professional philosopher and an Orthodox Christian.  My journey to classic liturgical theism is in many ways parallel to Professer Feser's -- I passed from Nietzsche's utter destruction of my very faint early (nearly contentless) Prostentism to Heidegger and thence to Plato and finally forward to Christianity, as the genuine culmination of Greek philosophy.  My path led me through Plato to Byzantium rather than through Aristotle to Rome, but I would never diminish Aristotle (whom I consider to be a modified Platonist in all essential respects).  Paradoxically, Catholicism is a like a sweet lure to a philospher like me, but this makes me distrust it.  I tend to regard Latin Christianity as over-emphasizing the power of discursive rationality (logos in the lesser sense, or better, dianoia) and under-emphasizing mystical noētic experience, which in my view sets the stage for the denial of noēsis -- which I take to be equivalent to nominalism, or the denial of real natures or essences, and thus to entail William of Ockham's assertion of the primacy of will and freedom in God over intellect and reason, which was in turn to become (I believe) THE chief mark of modernity: the (step by step) subordination of everything, including the beautiful, the good, and the true (in that order) to the total autonomy of will, first the divine will in theology, and then the human will in philosophical anthropology.  To my mind, the core belief or inner spirit of modernity is this faith in the total autonomy of the will and the perception of anything that hinders or restricts this spontaneous movement of the will as bad, and something to be liberated from.  To thus be absolute sponaneity, this will must itself be contentless except as its own pure movement, a kind of nothingness, or nothing in i